25 March 2012

National Medal of Honor Day

The Medal of Honor is the highest award for valor in action against an enemy force which can be bestowed upon an individual serving in the Armed Services of the United States. It was first presented by President Abraham Lincoln on March 25, 1863. 
March 25, 2007 was the first official National Medal of Honor Day observed in the United States.

Recipients - Afghanistan

Army Specialist Salvatore Giunta
Marine Corporal Dakota Meyer
Army Staff Sergeant Robert James Miller
Army Sergeant First Class Jared C. Monti
Navy Lieutenant Michael P. Murphy
Army Staff Sergeant Leroy Petry

Recipients - Iraq

Marine Corporal Jason Dunham
Army Specialist Ross A. McGinnis
Navy Master-at-Arms Second Class Michael A. Monsoor
Army Sergeant First Class Paul R. Smith

No comments: